Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, 01 December 2022:  The African Union Commission (AU) convenes the Joint Committee Meeting in Shire, Tigray region on the Implementation of the Cessation of Hostilities Agreement between the Government of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia (FDRE) and the Tigray Peoples’ Liberation Front (TPLF) of 2 November 2022. The meeting is consistent with the Declaration of the Senior Commanders, which called for the establishment of a comprehensive implementation plan for the disarmament of light weapons. The Joint Committee is made up of representatives of the FDRE, the TPLF and the African Union.

The Shire meeting is a major confidence-building measure in furtherance of the Parties’ commitment to fully implement the Cessation of Hostilities Agreement (COHA) for lasting peace and stability in Ethiopia. 

The AU wishes to commend the Government of the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia and the Tigray People’s Liberation Front for this significant milestone in the peace process. 

The African Union Commission expresses its appreciations to the African Development Bank for its continued support towards the AU-led process, and the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) for its meaningful support towards facilitating the conduct of the meeting.


Posted by Situation Room ICU

We use cookies on our website and mobile app to improve content display and overall user experience. The cookies we use do not store personally identifiable information nor can they harm your computer.
We intend to provide you with the right knowledge on-demand at the right time and in the appropriate format to ensure that you engage the African Union constructively in your specific role.
If you have any questions please contact directly PAPS Digitial Support Officer at