Addis Ababa, 26 August 2015: The Chairperson of the Commission of the African Union (AU), Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, welcomes the signing of the Compromise Peace Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in the Republic of South Sudan by President Salva Kiir Mayardit, today, 26 August 2015, during a ceremony held in Juba, South Sudan. This followed the initialing of the Agreement by the Government and its signing by the Sudan People's Liberation Movement In Opposition (SPLM/IO), the Former Political Detainees and other parties, in Addis Ababa, on 17 August 2015.

The Chairperson of the Commission stresses that today's event represents a critical step in the efforts aimed at ending the conflict that broke out in December 2013 and the untold violence inflicted on the civilian population. Reiterating the AU's full support to the Agreement, which is the result of intensive and prolonged negotiations and consultations, she calls on all the South Sudanese parties to scrupulously abide by its terms and faithfully implement its provisions. She urges them to seize this unique opportunity to open a new chapter in the history of their young nation and live up to the expectations of their long suffering people.

The Chairperson of the Commission congratulates the leaders of the region for their tireless efforts to bring to an end the tragedy that has befallen South Sudan. She stresses that the presence at the signing ceremony of the Chairperson of the Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), Prime Minister Hailemariam Desalegn of Ethiopia, President Uhuru Kenyatta of Kenya, President Yoweri Museveni of Uganda and Vice President Bakri Hassan Saleh of Sudan, is a further testimony to the unwavering commitment of the region to peace and to it solidarity with the people of South Sudan. 

 The Chairperson of the Commission reiterates the AU’s commitment to fully support the implementation process of the Agreement and its determination, alongside IGAD and other international stakeholders, to ensure that all its provisions are adhered to. She commends the AU High Representative for South Sudan, former President Alpha Oumar Konare, who participated in the Juba signing ceremony, for his contribution to the peace process and dedication in the discharge of his mandate. She also reiterates her appreciation to the members of the AU High-level ad hoc Committee on South Sudan (Algeria, Chad, Nigeria, Rwanda and South Africa) for their role and active involvement. 

 The Chairperson of the Commission underlines the need for continued and enhanced international engagement in support of the full and faithful implementation of the Agreement. She expresses once again the AU's gratitude to all concerned international partners for their important contribution to the peace process and support to the African-led mediation efforts.

Posted by Messay
Last updated by Abraham Kebede

We use cookies on our website and mobile app to improve content display and overall user experience. The cookies we use do not store personally identifiable information nor can they harm your computer.
We intend to provide you with the right knowledge on-demand at the right time and in the appropriate format to ensure that you engage the African Union constructively in your specific role.
If you have any questions please contact directly PAPS Digitial Support Officer at

Commission (Chairperson)
South Sudan