The African Union Commission held a hybrid Joint Planning retreat with the Regional Economic Communities (RECs), Regional Mechanisms (RMs) and the European Union (EU) in Nairobi, Kenya, 11-12 June 2024.

The purpose of the meeting was to agree on strategic and programme priorities for the next phase of the EU Programme, determine working modalities as well as roles and responsibilities and develop an action plan for transitioning into the next phase of the Programme.

In his opening remarks, Ambassador Fredric Gateretse-Ngoga, representing Ambassador Bankole Adeoye, AU Commissioner for Political Affairs, Peace and Security (PAPS), recalled the principles that underpinned the AU-EU Summit in February 2022 focusing on the importance of respect and shared values, mutual accountability, partnership for prosperity, partnership for stability, and forming an arc of peace in the world. He further suggested that the next phase of the EU programme should focus on agreeing on priorities, formulating implementation arrangements, and identifying capacity needs. 

The meeting included remarks by Thomas Hughebert, Head of Policy and Cooperation at EU Delegation to the African Union, and Brig (Rtd.) Paul Kahuria Njema, Director of East African Standby Force (EASF). This was followed by presentations from the EU and AU on the priorities for the next phase of the Programme. The African Union Economic, Social & Cultural Council (ECOSOCC) also gave a presentation on the role of Civil Society Organizations (CSOs) in the next phase. The Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA) and EASF shared their experiences working with CSOs in the current phase of the EU APSA IV Programme.

On the next day, the session started with presentations focusing on the AU Human Rights Compliance Framework, the AU Post Conflict Reconstruction and Development (PCRD) Policy (revised in 2024), the AUPCRD Center, and Cairo International Center for Conflict Resolution, Peacekeeping and Peacebuilding (CCCPA). Following that, participants were divided into three working groups, namely: (i) Programme Priorities, (ii) Implementation Arrangements and Coordination, and (iii) Human and Financial Resource Needs. This was followed by presentations on the outcomes of the discussions by the three working groups.

Participants from the African Union Commission (AUC), European Union (EU), Southern African Development Community (SADC), Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS), Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS), COMESA, Arab Maghreb Union (UMA), Intergovernmental Authority on Development (IGAD), East African Community (EAC), North African Regional Capability (NARC), EASF, CCCPA and ECOSOCC were all in attendance.

For further information please contact:

Mr. Abraham Kebede Gizaw, PAPS Digital Support Officer and Database Administrator | Department of Political Affairs, Peace and Security | African Union Commission | Addis Ababa, Ethiopia | Email:

Information and Communication Directorate, African Union Commission I E-mail: I Web: | Addis Ababa, Ethiopia | Follow Us: Facebook | Twitter | Instagram | YouTube

Posted by Abraham Kebede

We use cookies on our website and mobile app to improve content display and overall user experience. The cookies we use do not store personally identifiable information nor can they harm your computer.
We intend to provide you with the right knowledge on-demand at the right time and in the appropriate format to ensure that you engage the African Union constructively in your specific role.
If you have any questions please contact directly PAPS Digitial Support Officer at