The promotion of peace and security is one of the objectives of the African Union as enshrined in its Constitutive Act. The Peace and Security Department (PSD) was established to promote peace, security and stability on the continent. Among the Department’s five Divisions, the Conflict Prevention and Early Warning Division focuses on the anticipation and prevention of violent conflicts in Africa.


The mandate of the Division is to provide timely advice on potential conflicts and threats to peace and security in Africa to the AU decision-makers.

The Division focuses on the operationalization of some aspects of the African Peace and Security Architecture (APSA) including the Continental Early Warning System (CEWS), the Panel of the Wise (PoW) and the AU Border Programme (AUBP).

Posted by Tchioffo Kodjo
Last updated by Abraham Kebede

We use cookies on our website and mobile app to improve content display and overall user experience. The cookies we use do not store personally identifiable information nor can they harm your computer.
We intend to provide you with the right knowledge on-demand at the right time and in the appropriate format to ensure that you engage the African Union constructively in your specific role.
If you have any questions please contact directly PAPS Digitial Support Officer at