The Second Conference of States Parties (CSP) to the African Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone Treaty (ANWFZ) will be held at the AU Conference Centre from 12 to 13 November 2012.

The African Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zone Treaty(Treaty of Pelindaba) was adopted by the 31st Ordinary Session of the Organization of African Unity (OAU), held in Addis Ababa from 26 to 28 June 1995, and was signed in Cairo on 11 April 1996. The Treaty entered into force on 15 July 2009. 

The Treaty of Pelindaba came as a result of efforts extending over three decades, following the adoption of the Declaration on the Denuclearization of Africa, by the 1st Ordinary Session of the Assembly of the Heads of State and Government of the OAU, held in Cairo, from 17 to 21 July 1964.

The Treaty of Pelindaba requires States Parties to renounce nuclear explosive devices, particularly to refrain from conducting research, developing, manufacturing, stockpiling or otherwise acquiring, possessing or having control over any nuclear explosive device, as well as from encouraging, receiving, providing or seeking any assistance to these ends. The Treaty also prohibits stationing and testing of nuclear explosive devices on the Zone, as well as dumping of radioactive wastes. The Treaty further requires States Parties to declare, dismantle, destroy or convert nuclear explosive devices and facilities for their manufacture; and to use nuclear science and technology for exclusively verifiable peaceful purposes, while maintaining physical protection of nuclear materials and facilities. The Treaty also prohibits armed attacks on nuclear installations.

The Treaty of Pelindaba is an important pillar of the global efforts to completely eliminate existing nuclear weapons and prevent their proliferation, as enshrined in the 1968 Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT). 

The Treaty of Pelindaba has three Protocols. Protocols I and II commit States Parties not to use or threaten to use a nuclear explosive device against any territory within the Zone, as well as not to undertake, assist or encourage the testing of any nuclear explosive device anywhere within the Zone. Protocols I and II are open for signature by the following five nuclear-weapon states: China, France, the Russian Federation, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the United States. China, France, the Russian Federation and the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland have signed and ratified Protocols I and II, while the United States, which has signed these Protocols, is yet to ratify them.  

Protocol III, which is open for signature by France and Spain, concerns the territories for which they are de jure or de facto internationally responsible for, and which are situated within the Zone. The Protocol commits them not to contribute to any act that constitutes a violation of the Treaty. France has signed and ratified Protocol III, while Spain has neither signed nor ratified it. 

The Treaty also establishes the African Commission on Nuclear Energy (AFCONE) as the mechanism to verify States Parties’ compliance with their obligations.

The Conference of States Parties is the highest decision making body in the implementation of the Treaty of Pelindaba. The CSP convenes at least one every two years to review the implementation of the Treaty, and adopt the necessary decisions to ensure the continued operations of AFCONE.

Conclusions of the 1st CSP, 4 November 2010

Conclusions of the 2nd CSP, 12-13 November 2012

Conclusions of the 3rd CSP, 29-30 May 2014