Addis Ababa, 13 September 2018: The Chairperson of the Commission Moussa Faki Mahamat welcomes the signing of the Revitalized Agreement on the Resolution of the Conflict in the Republic of South Sudan (R-ARCSS) on 12 September 2018 in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia. The Chairperson wishes to commend the efforts of the IGAD countries towards addressing the multiple challenges that face South Sudan through a mediated process that culminated in the R-ACRSS.

In particular, the Chairperson wishes to commend the direct involvement of both President Omar Hassan al Bashir and President Yoweri Kaguta Museveni in spearheading the latest efforts in the search for a lasting solution to the conflict in South Sudan.

The Chairperson underscores the fact that the multiple challenges that face South Sudan can never be resolved through the military option, as they require decisive political leadership that is intent on addressing the plight of the people of South Sudan.

The Chairperson is of the conviction that the R-ACRSS offers an unparalleled opportunity for national introspection, healing, and reconciliation that should set the agenda for nation building in a country that has been beset by war.

The Chairperson strongly urges the political leaders of South Sudan to place the interests of the people of South Sudan before any other considerations and ensure that this peace agreement is implemented as smoothly as possible. In this regard, he reiterates the unwavering support of the African Union to the people of South Sudan in their quest to achieve sustainable peace, security and development.

Posted by Abraham Kebede

We use cookies on our website and mobile app to improve content display and overall user experience. The cookies we use do not store personally identifiable information nor can they harm your computer.
We intend to provide you with the right knowledge on-demand at the right time and in the appropriate format to ensure that you engage the African Union constructively in your specific role.
If you have any questions please contact directly PSD web Administrator at

Commission (Chairperson)
South Sudan