Addis Ababa, 8 February 2013: The Chairperson of the Commission of the African Union (AU), Dr. Nkosazana Dlamini Zuma, welcomes the establishment of the Government of National Unity in the Central African Republic (CAR). She commends all the CAR Parties for their commitment and sense of compromise, and urges them to spare no effort in ensuring the scrupulous implementation of the Libreville Agreements of 11 January 2013.

The Chairperson of the Commission expresses, once again, the gratitude of the AU to the leaders of the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS) for their efforts, and especially to President Denis Sassou Nguesso, Chairman of the Libreville Agreements Follow up Committee. She welcomes the appointment of the Special Representative of the Chairman of the Follow up Committee in Bangui, in the person of General Noël Léonard Essongo.

The Chairperson of the Commission also expresses AU’s gratitude to the United Nations for its assistance in the implementation of the Libreville Agreements. She once again urges all CAR partners to provide the necessary support to the new Government of National Unity, so that it can carry out the mission entrusted to it.

The Chairperson of the Commission reiterates the commitment of the AU to continue to support the monitoring and implementation of the Libreville Agreements.

Posted by Abraham Belayneh
Last updated by Abraham Kebede

We use cookies on our website and mobile app to improve content display and overall user experience. The cookies we use do not store personally identifiable information nor can they harm your computer.
We intend to provide you with the right knowledge on-demand at the right time and in the appropriate format to ensure that you engage the African Union constructively in your specific role.
If you have any questions please contact directly PSD web Administrator at

Commission (Chairperson)
Central African Republic