5 July 2019, Addis Ababa: The Chairperson highly commends the people of Sudan on the occasion of this important breakthrough and recognizes their commitment to the peaceful expression of their legitimate aspirations for a peaceful and democratic Sudan.

The Chairperson wishes to make a special mention of congratulations to his Special Envoy Professor Mohamed el Hacen Lebatt and the Special Envoy of Ethiopia’s Prime Minister Dr Abiy Ahmed, Ambassador Mahmoud Dirir, and their teams, for their exemplary and patient mediation efforts. The support and collaboration of the International Governmental Authority on Development (IGAD) and the neighboring countries of Sudan in this regard, is also highly appreciated.

The Chairperson also extends his gratitude to the international community for their support to a Sudanese-led process and the African mediation process that led to this positive outcome for the country, the region and the Continent.

The Chairperson urges the national parties to maintain this spirit of compromise and responsibility for the national interests of Sudan.

The Chairperson further reiterates the steadfast and continued commitment of the African Union to accompany the Sudanese people in their pursuit towards a democratic Sudan.

Posted by Jonathan Doe

We use cookies on our website and mobile app to improve content display and overall user experience. The cookies we use do not store personally identifiable information nor can they harm your computer.
We intend to provide you with the right knowledge on-demand at the right time and in the appropriate format to ensure that you engage the African Union constructively in your specific role.
If you have any questions please contact directly PSD web Administrator at

Headquarters - Addis ababa