Juba, 5 December 2018: The Ambassadors of the member States of the African Union High Level Ad hoc Committee for South Sudan (C5) comprising of South Africa, Algeria, Chad, Nigeria and Rwanda visited South Sudan from 01 to 05 December 2018.

The C5, composed of Heads of State and Government is chaired by the Head of State of the Republic of South Africa and was established by the African Union Assembly of Heads of State and Government in 2015, in order to express political support to South Sudan peace process.

While in South Sudan, the Ambassadors met with the Minister of Foreign Affairs, Minister of Cabinet Affairs, the African Diplomatic Corps, Civil Society, National Pre-Transitional Committee (NPTC), National Dialogue Committee, R-JMEC, CTSAMMVM, Eminent Persons, Troika and International Partners.

The C5 signed the R-ARCSS, as guarantors on 21 November 2018, as a signal of Africa’s commitment to supporting the people of South Sudan in their search for sustainable peace. Subsequent to signing this agreement, the Committee decided to visit South Sudan as an expression of solidarity as well as to establish direct contact with key stakeholders involved in the peace process, in order to get a better understanding of Africa’s role in supporting the implementation of the peace agreement.

During the visit, the Committee reiterated the full commitment of the African Union to ensure the successful implementation of the revitalized peace agreement.

Posted by Jonathan Doe

We use cookies on our website and mobile app to improve content display and overall user experience. The cookies we use do not store personally identifiable information nor can they harm your computer.
We intend to provide you with the right knowledge on-demand at the right time and in the appropriate format to ensure that you engage the African Union constructively in your specific role.
If you have any questions please contact directly PSD web Administrator at