Addis Ababa, Ethiopia – 22 January 2021: The Chairperson of the African Union (AU) Commission, His Excellency Moussa Faki Mahamat, welcomes the entry into force, today 22 January 2021, of the Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons (TPNW), in accordance with its article 15 (1). He notes that this global historic landmark, reaffirms the AU commitment towards the achievement of a world free of nuclear weapons. He further notes that the treaty is a welcome contribution to towards realizing global peace and security through nuclear disarmament.

The Chairperson of the Commission notes the strong input of African Union Member States in the process leading to the negotiation and adoption of this Treaty, which is in line with the African Nuclear-Weapons-Free Zone Treaty (the Treaty of Pelindaba). Treaty of Pelindaba, which entered into force in July 2009, is a resolve of African Union Member States to keep the African continent free of nuclear weapons.

The Chairperson of the Commission congratulates those Member States that have ratified the treaty and calls upon those that have not yet done so to accede to the treaty.

The Chairperson assureds of the commitment of the Commission to support Member States to meet their obligations towards realizing the aspiration of a peaceful and secure Africa, as contained in the continent’s Agenda 2063. 

Posted by SitroomCom

We use cookies on our website and mobile app to improve content display and overall user experience. The cookies we use do not store personally identifiable information nor can they harm your computer.
We intend to provide you with the right knowledge on-demand at the right time and in the appropriate format to ensure that you engage the African Union constructively in your specific role.
If you have any questions please contact directly PSD web Administrator at