Addis Ababa, 21 November 2017: The Commission of the African Union (AU), within the framework of the AU Border Programme (AUBP), organized a Joint Technical Meeting between the Governments of Riparian States of Lake Tanganyika; the Republic of Burundi, the Democratic Republic of Congo, the United Republic of Tanzania and the Republic of Zambia, from 13 to 17 November 2017, at the AU Headquarters. The meeting was held as part of the implementation of the decisions taken during an earlier session of the stakeholders, held from 10 to 12 April 2017, in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, to further the reaffirmation exercise on the Lake Tanganyika Boundary. 

In this context, as a part of its capacity-building mandate, the Commission hosted a training session in order to familiarize the technical experts of the four Riparian States of Lake Tanganyika with the software CARIS LOTS, as a tool to delimit lake-based boundaries.  

The concerned Riparian States agreed on sharing information on Lake Tanganyika and organizing, in future, a meeting on Cross-Border Cooperation for Lake Tanganyika.

The meeting provided an opportunity to enhance cooperation between the Governments of Riparian States of Lake Tanganyika and an exchange of information on the best method to delimit their shared lacustrine borders. 




Posted by Lulit Kebede
Last updated by Dagne Semu

We use cookies on our website and mobile app to improve content display and overall user experience. The cookies we use do not store personally identifiable information nor can they harm your computer.
We intend to provide you with the right knowledge on-demand at the right time and in the appropriate format to ensure that you engage the African Union constructively in your specific role.
If you have any questions please contact directly PSD web Administrator at

Headquarters - Addis ababa